Book Recommendations: Pride Month Edition - 10 Books with Gay and M/M rep to read and love during Pride Month!

One of my favourite parts about these month-long celebratory events at the Book Rack is that I get to inundate all of you with book recommendations. And what better month than Pride Month?

Check out our last blog post here!


The Queer Principles of Kit Web by Cat Sebastian

  • With this series, Cat moves from the Regency to the Georgian era, delivering a winning novel that will appeal to romance fans as well as YA fans, eager for more queer stories. 

  • A perfectly delightful romp, full of swashbuckling, romance and a little bit of intrigue. Kit Webb will steal your heart as readily as he will steal your gold.

  • Heist heist baby! But seriously: if you like heists and/or witty, class-conscious historical romance, give this one a try.

 


Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern

  • A timeless love story set in a secret underground world—a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea.

  • This book is Alice in Wonderland meets Dark Academia.

  • This really felt like a love letter to librarians, booksellers, and anyone else who dedicates their life to the cultivation of books and all the secrets they contain.

  •  This book follows Zachary, a student in Vermont studying games and gender until he stumbles upon this book that is telling a story of himself. Then he try to follow leads that take him to a secret society in NYC and mysterious characters that take him to another world through magical doors. 

 


Seaside Stranger by Kii Kanna

  • Ever since his parents disowned him for being gay, Shun has been living with his aunt on a small island near Okinawa. One day, he meets Mio, a high school student who recently lost his own parents and now spends his days sitting by the sea. The two young men begin to open up to each other...until Mio reveals that he's leaving.
  • A love story between an openly gay novelist and a young man coping with grief that was recently turned into an anime film!

  • FOR FANS OF: Yes, No, or Maybe?, BL Metamorphosis, Our Dining Table, Classmates, Yuki no Shita no Qualia

 


Silver in the Wood by Emily Tesh

  • There is a Wild Man who lives in the deep quiet of Greenhollow, and he listens to the wood. Tobias, tethered to the forest, does not dwell on his past life, but he lives a perfectly unremarkable existence with his cottage, his cat, and his dryads. When Greenhollow Hall acquires a handsome, intensely curious new owner in Henry Silver, everything changes. Old secrets better left buried are dug up, and Tobias is forced to reckon with his troubled past, both the green magic of the woods, and the dark things that rest in its heart.
  • Tesh lured me into her rich fairytale narrative with the warmth and strangeness, then hooked me on her intricate characters. Silver in the Wood is a novella of quiet yearning and old secrets, gentle woodsmen and fierce dryads and mothers you really shouldn’t mess with.

  • “Silver in the Woods” is just a little over 100 pages, but the author draws as much blood from the story as possible. It’s elegantly understated in a way that makes you want to immediately flip back to the first page once you reach the ending.

 


The Darkness Outside Us by Eliot Schrefer

  • Yes, The Darkness Outside Us is utterly inventive and relentlessly page-turning. And yes, Ambrose and Kodiak are seriously the hottest couple in space. But even more, this is an insightful, tender, and profound story, about the weight of history, and the power of transformation and true love.
  • Two boys, alone in space. After the first settler on Titan trips her distress signal, neither remaining country on Earth can afford to scramble a rescue of its own, and so two sworn enemies are installed in the same spaceship.

  • The Darkness Outside Us was the most breathtaking sci-fi I’ve read all year. An unexpectedly introspective tale balancing humour and unimaginable grief—pain with great payoff. 

 


Love in the Big City by Sang Young Park

  • A funny, transporting, surprising, and poignant novel that was one of the highest-selling debuts of recent years in Korea, Love in the Big City tells the story of a young gay man searching for happiness in the lonely city of Seoul.
  • Gay life is depicted in all its contradictions - from joyful freedom and camaraderie to rampant homophobia and alienation. The novel is told in four episodes, each with a different tone and exploring aspects of the narrator’s life.

  • Brimming with humor and life, Love in the Big City makes for an ​​entertaining read.

 


A Marvellous Light by Freya Marske

  • Red White & Royal Blue meets Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell in debut author Freya Marske’s A Marvellous Light, featuring an Edwardian England full of magic, contracts, and conspiracies.
  • In A Marvellous Light, Freya Marske builds a world complete—detail after detail, one event leading into another, with an ethos just far enough off from the expected to surprise while feeling completely natural.

  • Overall, this was such a fun, magical read with perfectly steamy M/M romance! I love that this was a debut and I’m excited for more from Freya Marske!

 


All That's Left in the World by Erik J. Brown

  • What If It's Us meets They Both Die at the End in this postapocalyptic, queer YA adventure romance from debut author Erik J. Brown. Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera, Alex London, and Heartstopper by Alice Oseman.
  • This book was phenomenally written. The characters were authentic and believable, with real depth. The romance blossomed so slow and perfect.

  • The post-apocalyptic love story I didn't know I needed.

 


Heaven's Official Blessing by MXTX

  • An epic Chinese danmei spanning 8 books. This is an intense slow-burn!
  • A rich world full of ghosts, kings, spirits, and gods. 

  • Has an animated show on Netflix and is soon to be a live action show! 

 


Winter's Orbit by Everina Maxwell

  • The high concept of “a wayward, scandal-magnet prince and an intensely serious, duty-bound scholar are drafted into a political marriage and forced to work together in order to prevent an interplanetary war” tells you all you need to know about this book, but it only scratches the surface of the story’s unstinting delights.
  • The novel is also, thrillingly, just as emotionally satisfying. Maxwell explores emotional wreckage with a keenness both terrifying and touching, making her way through the stripping rains and stinging winds of human emotion with the grim purpose of a ship battened against the storm.

  • All in all, Winter’s Orbit is a smart, tender, and deeply rewarding gem of space opera. I could have gladly spent twice as long with Jainan and Kiem, and still longed for more!